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Notice to Readers 

This report provides summaries of new laws (public acts and special acts) significantly affecting 

transportation enacted during the 2021 regular session and June 2021 special session (JSS). 

OLR’s other Acts Affecting reports are, or will soon be, available on OLR’s website: 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/actsaffecting.asp. 

 

Each summary indicates the public act (PA) or special act (SA) number. Not all provisions of the 

acts are included. The report does not include vetoed acts unless the veto was overridden. 

Complete summaries of public acts are, or will soon be, available on OLR’s website: 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/olrpasums.asp. 

 

Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest them from the Connecticut State 

Library, House Clerk’s Office, or General Assembly’s website: http://www.cga.ct.gov. 
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Airports and Aviation 

Meteorological Evaluation Tower Marking 

A new law establishes marking requirements for meteorological evaluation towers (METs) that are 

50 to 200 feet above ground level and used to evaluate a site’s suitability for wind turbines. METs 

are not subject to Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) reporting or marking requirements because 

they fall below the height threshold, but they present visibility issues for low-flying aircraft (e.g., 

agricultural operations).  

 

The act’s marking requirements correspond to FAA guidance on the voluntary marking of METs, and 

penalties for violations range from between $500 to $10,000, depending on whether the violation 

results in injury or death (PA 21-175, § 56, effective October 1, 2021). 

 

PFAS in Firefighting Foam 

A new law generally prohibits using class B firefighting foam with intentionally added perfluoroalkyl 

or polyfluoroalkyl substance (PFAS), which is used to extinguish flammable liquid fires. However, 

the act provides certain exemptions for airport-related entities and any entity federal law requires to 

use the foam (PA 21-191, § 1, effective upon passage). 

 

Boating, Ports, and Harbors 

Boat Registrations and Decals 

A new law allows the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) commissioner to authorize marine 

dealers to issue permanent boat registrations and decals, instead of only temporary ones, as under 

prior law (PA 21-106, § 29, effective upon passage). 

 

Connecticut Pilot Commission 

A new law requires the attorney general to defend and provide legal services to the Connecticut 

Pilot Commission (e.g., represent the commission in suits and civil proceedings in which the state is 

a party). It also exempts the commission’s directors, officers, and employees from personal liability 

for damage or injury caused in performing their professional duties, provided the damage or injury 

was not due to wanton, reckless, willful, or malicious actions. By law, the nine-member commission 

assists and advises the Connecticut Port Authority (CPA) on licensing marine pilots, safely 

conducting vessels, and protecting the state’s ports and waters (PA 21-179, §§ 5 & 6, effective 

upon passage). 

 

https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=175
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=837
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=106
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=241
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Connecticut Port Authority Oversight 

Two new laws made several changes related to CPA oversight, including: 

1. increasing the number of CPA board members from 15 to 21 and modifying appointments, 

including adding officials from the three cities with deep water ports (Bridgeport, New 

Haven, and New London) and two municipalities with small harbors; 

2. requiring CPA to submit a plan for ensuring that the process for selecting and distributing 

Small Harbor Improvement Projects Program grants is equitable and transparent; 

3. requiring CPA to report certain information on its operations, finances, contracts, and 

projects to the governor and Transportation Committee, and the Department of 

Administrative Services commissioner and Office of Policy and Management (OPM) secretary 

to review and comment on the reports; and 

4. subjecting CPA to State Contracting Standards Board oversight until July 1, 2026 (PA 21-

179, §§ 1-4, and PA 21-2, June Special Session (JSS), § 309, both effective upon passage). 

 

Dredging 

A new law requires the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) commissioner, 

by November 1, 2021, to report to the Environment Committee on the approval process for 

maintenance marine dredging projects for the last four years. The report must (1) describe each 

project application and (2) analyze how long it took DEEP to act on each application and specify 

whether DEEP approved or denied it (PA 21-88, § 5, effective upon passage). 

 

Harbor Masters 

A new law gives the governor more discretion in appointing harbor masters in municipalities in 

which a local harbor management commission has not submitted at least three nominees for the 

position. By law, harbor masters take care of and supervise the harbors and navigable waterways 

over which they have jurisdiction and are subject to the DEEP commissioner’s direction and control 

(PA 21-2, JSS, § 195, effective July 1, 2021). 

 

Impaired Boating Laws 

Existing law prohibits boating while under the influence of alcohol or drugs or with an elevated 

blood alcohol content (BAC) and establishes penalties for violations. It also establishes a process 

for DEEP to impose administrative sanctions on boaters who operate boats with an elevated BAC or 

who refuse to submit to a test. 

 

The law legalizing recreational cannabis makes several changes to the impaired boating laws that 

generally mirror changes made to the laws on driving under the influence (see below). Among other 

https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=241
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=241
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1202&which_year=2021
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=6496
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=1202
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things, the act expands DEEP’s administrative sanctions process to allow for sanctions on boaters 

who (1) are found to be boating under the influence based on evidence of behavioral impairment 

gathered through a drug influence evaluation or (2) refuse the nontestimonial portion of a drug 

influence evaluation (PA 21-1, JSS, §§ 122 & 123, effective April 1, 2022). 

 

Payments in Lieu of Taxes (PILOTs) for Port Authority Property 

A new law restores a provision that applied prior to FY 19 deeming CPA-owned property and 

facilities as state-owned real property for purposes of the PILOT program and requiring the state to 

provide a PILOT to the municipality in which the property and facilities are located (PA 21-3, §§ 7, 

effective July 1, 2021). Another new law increases the PILOT reimbursement rate for these 

properties and facilities to 100%, rather than the 45% reimbursement rate that generally applies to 

state-owned property (PA 21-2, JSS, § 445, effective July 1, 2021). 

 

Bus and Rail 

Bus Right-of-Way 

A new law requires drivers to yield the right-of-way to a bus traveling in the same direction when the 

bus signals to reenter the flow of traffic. Under the act, a violation is an infraction (PA 21-106, § 37, 

effective October 1, 2021). 

 

CTpass Program 

A new law requires the Department of Transportation (DOT) commissioner to establish the CTpass 

program by January 1, 2022. This program will allow certain employees, clients, students, or 

customers of an eligible organizations providing training programs to use certain public transit 

services without cost or at reduced cost.  

 

The act allows the commissioner to enter into contracts with organizations that apply to participate 

and negotiate terms and conditions, which must include (1) the organization’s compensation or 

reimbursement amount; (2) the definition of an approved class specific to the organization; and (3) 

any limitations on times of use or types of public transit services available to the approved class (PA 

21-2, JSS, § 259, effective July 1, 2021). 

 

Distribution of Surplus Rail Material 

A new law modifies the process for distributing the state’s surplus rail material to freight railroad 

companies. Among other things, it (1) establishes a more specific process for notifying and 

selecting freight railroad companies to receive the material, (2) requires that DOT make surplus rail 

https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1201&which_year=2021
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=3
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1202&which_year=2021
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=106
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1202&which_year=2021
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1202&which_year=2021


2021-R-0119 August 10, 2021 Page 9 of 24 
 

material available for inspection at a designated location, and (3) requires freight railroad 

companies to arrange and pay for delivery of material (PA 21-175, § 18, effective October 1, 2021). 

 

Eastern Connecticut Transportation Study 

Under a new law, the DOT commissioner must study the feasibility of (1) extending the Shore Line 

East rail line to Rhode Island, (2) establishing a new passenger rail service from New London to 

Norwich, (3) establishing new passenger train stations in Groton and Stonington, and (4) extending 

ground transportation systems in the eastern region of the state and connecting the systems to the 

rail lines. The commissioner must submit the study to the Transportation Committee by January 1, 

2023 (PA 21-175, § 20, effective upon passage). 

 

Metro North Branch Line Reports 

By January 1, 2022, a new law requires DOT to report to the Transportation Committee on the 

status of (1) installing a side rail on the New Canaan branch line and (2) increasing direct service to 

New York on the Danbury branch line (PA 21-175, § 19, effective upon passage). 

 

Smoking and Vaping at Rail Platforms and Bus Shelters 

A new law prohibits smoking and e-cigarette use in any area of a platform or shelter at a rail, 

busway, or bus station that is owned or leased and operated by the state or any political 

subdivision. Prior law prohibited smoking (but not e-cigarette use) only in partially enclosed shelters 

on these rail platforms or in bus shelters (PA 21-175, §§ 12 & 21, effective October 1, 2021). 

 

Department of Transportation Operation 

Consultants 

Existing law requires consultants who wish to provide services to DOT in any year to prequalify by 

submitting information, in the preceding calendar year, on their qualifications. A new law moves up 

the deadline for these prequalification applications from November 15 to October 15. It also 

reduces the frequency of consultant performance evaluations from once every six months to once a 

year.  

 

Additionally, the act makes permanent DOT’s authority to use consultants for projects using 

alternative delivery methods (e.g., design build processes), subject to certain conditions in existing 

law (PA 21-175, §§ 4-6, effective upon passage). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=6484
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=6484
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=6484
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=6484
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=6484
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State Properties Review Board Threshold 

A new law  increases, from $5,000 to $10,000, the threshold under which certain DOT property 

transactions are exempt from State Properties Review Board review and approval (PA 21-175, § 1, 

effective upon passage). 

 

Driver’s Licenses, Registrations, and Certificates of Title 

Criminal History Information and Driving Records 

A new law establishes a process to erase records of certain criminal convictions after a specified 

period following the person’s most recent conviction. But the act specifies that it does not require 

DMV to erase criminal history record information from operators’ driving records. It requires DMV, 

when applicable, to make this information available through the Commercial Driver’s License 

Information System (PA 21-32, § 3, as amended by PA 21-33, § 10, effective January 1, 2023). 

 

DMV Contractors 

By law, the DMV commissioner may contract with other entities, including automobile clubs and 

municipalities, to conduct various license and registration transactions. Under prior law, she could 

authorize a contractor or municipality to conduct these transactions only at their own office or 

facility. A new law eliminates this restriction (PA 21-106, § 13, effective upon passage). 

 

Drive Only License Changes 

A new law specifies that the fee for (1) an original drive only license is $72 for a six-year period, or a 

prorated amount for shorter periods and (2) a three-year renewal is $36 dollars. These fees are 

proportional to existing driver’s license fees. Additionally, the new law allows drive only license 

applicants to use photocopies and certain noncertified documents as proof of residency, 

conforming to current DMV practice for other types of licenses (PA 21-106, § 47, effective upon 

passage). 

 

Fee Waiver for Veterans 

A new law authorizes the DMV commissioner to waive driver’s license and ID card renewal or 

duplication fees for certain veterans while attending a one-day Department of Veterans Affairs 

(DVA)-hosted event that offers services, supplies, or assistance to veterans (PA 21-106, § 50, 

effective upon passage). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=6484
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=32
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=33
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=106
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=106
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=106
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Greenways Plate Fee Revenue 

A new law requires that revenue collected from the special fee for greenways license plates be 

deposited into a dedicated account and used by DEEP for the greenways, bikeways, and 

recreational trails programs. Under prior law, this revenue was deposited into the General Fund and 

not reserved for a specific purpose (PA 21-28, § 14, effective October 1, 2021).  

 

ID Card Revocation 

A new law requires the DMV commissioner to revoke an ID card if (1) the holder misrepresents his 

or her age or otherwise deceives to get the ID card or (2) it is used or exhibited by someone other 

than the holder. It also requires a holder of a revoked ID card to pay a $175 restoration fee in order 

to obtain a new one, which is the same amount to restore a suspended or revoked driver’s license 

(PA 21-106, §§ 1 & 2, effective July 1, 2021). 

 

Insurance Company Possession of Vehicles 

A new law generally (1) creates a process for insurance companies that take possession of a 

vehicle as a result of a damage or theft claim settlement to apply to DMV for certain title 

documents, if they are unable to obtain them from the insured or lienholder and (2) makes changes 

to powers of attorney used to support an insurance company’s application for, or transfer of, title 

certificates (PA 21-106, § 39, effective October 1, 2021). 

 

Issuing Credentials Without Applicant’s Personal Appearance 

A new law expands the circumstances under which DMV can renew and duplicate credentials 

without an applicant’s personal appearance. Under the act, the DMV commissioner may renew or 

duplicate licenses or ID cards without an applicant’s personal appearance if, among other things, 

she (1) has satisfactory evidence of the applicant’s identity, (2) is satisfied that the applicant is a 

legal resident of this state, and (3) has the applicant’s digital image on file. Prior law allowed such 

renewals only in limited circumstances, such as for armed forces members and those temporarily 

residing out-of-state (PA 21-106, § 10, effective upon passage). 

 

License Plates for Veterans and Armed Forces Members With Wartime 

Service 

A new law requires DMV to issue special license plates indicating service during certain statutorily-

defined periods of war at the request of any DVA-verified veteran or armed forces member who 

received a campaign medal. The plates must be designed in consultation with the Department of 

Veterans Affairs commissioner and bear the words “(Name of War) Veteran.” The DMV 

https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=5429
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=106
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=106
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=106
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commissioner must charge an additional fee for the plates that covers the plate’s entire production 

costs (PA 21-106, § 49, effective January 1, 2022). 

 

License Suspension for Illegal Cannabis Possession  

The new law legalizing recreational cannabis requires the DMV commissioner to impose a 60-day 

license suspension on anyone under age 21 convicted of possessing any amount of cannabis (PA 

21-1, JSS, §§ 18 & 115, various effective dates). 

 

Lien or Title Service Filing Fee 

A new law imposes a $25 fee on applications submitted by a lien or title service that files seven or 

more registration or title applications per month and fails or refuses to do so electronically when 

requested by the DMV commissioner (PA 21-106, § 4, effective July 1, 2021). 

 

Municipal Fine for Unregistered Vehicles 

A new law allows municipalities to impose, by ordinance, a fine of up to $250 on owners of motor 

vehicles that are subject to local property tax in the municipality but are not registered with DMV. 

Municipalities may only impose this fine on vehicles eligible for registration and required to be 

registered under the state’s motor vehicle laws. Municipalities imposing a fine must (1) adopt a 

citation hearing procedure through which the fine must be imposed and (2) suspend fines for first-

time violators who provide proof that they registered their vehicle with DMV (PA 21-106, § 32, 

effective July 1, 2021). 

 

New Residents and Driver’s Licenses 

A new law lengthens, from 30 to 60 days, the time period within which a person with an out-of-state 

driver’s license must obtain a Connecticut license after establishing residency here (PA 21-106, § 

9, effective July 1, 2021). 

 

One-Year Combination Registrations for Seniors 

Existing law allows registrants age 65 or older to opt to renew their passenger registrations for a 

one-year period instead of a two- or three-year period. A new law also allows them to opt to renew 

combination registrations for a one-year period (PA 21-106, § 18, effective October 1, 2021). 

 

Online Driver Education and Training 

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the legislature modified various laws to allow certain 

driver’s education and training programs to be offered through distance learning. Consequently, the 

following programs may be provided through distance learning that has interactive components 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=106
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1201&which_year=2021
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1201&which_year=2021
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=106
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=261
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=106
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=106
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(e.g., mandatory interaction or testing): (1) driver’s education provided by commercial driving 

schools and secondary schools, (2) operator retraining programs, (3) school bus and student 

transportation vehicle operator safety training, and (4) school bus driver safety training. If the eight-

hour safe driving practices course is provided through distance learning, it must be conducted in 

real-time by an instructor (PA 21-106, §§ 11, 12, 22, 23, 27, 28 & 51, effective upon passage). 

 

Organ and Tissue Donor Information 

By law, the DMV and DAS commissioners must enter into an agreement with at least one organ and 

tissue procurement organization to provide the organization access to information on driver’s 

license and identity card holders who intend to be donors. A new law requires the departments to 

also provide the procurement organization with information on individuals holding instruction 

permits who wish to be donors (PA 21-106, § 45, effective October 1, 2021). 

 

Out-of-State Motor Vehicle Registrations 

A new law extends, from 60 to 90 days after establishing residency, the grace period during which a 

resident may drive a vehicle registered out-of-state without penalty. It also lowered, from $1,000 to 

$250, the penalty for residents who drive such a vehicle after the grace period and requires that 

the fine be suspended for first-time violators who prove they registered their vehicles (PA 21-106, § 

30, effective October 1, 2021).  

 

The act also reconstitutes and modifies the motor vehicle registration task force, which is charged 

with studying compliance with motor vehicle registration laws and making recommendations to 

prevent residents from registering motor vehicles out-of-state. Task force members must be 

appointed by Transportation Committee leadership and must include tax assessors, police chiefs, 

and police officers (PA 21-106, § 31, effective upon passage). 

 

Replacement Veterans’ Plates 

By law, the DMV commissioner generally must charge a fee of $20 to replace vehicle plates. A new 

law establishes a specific fee of $15 for replacing veterans’ plates that become mutilated or 

illegible (PA 21-106, § 40, effective July 1, 2021). 

 

“Save Our Lakes” Plates 

A new law establishes fees for Save Our Lakes commemorative plates ($60 or $80, depending on 

the type of plate) and allows DMV to keep part of the fees ($15) to defray plate production and 

issuance costs. Prior law required DMV to adopt these fees by regulation and did not allow it to 

keep a portion of the fees to defray costs. The remainder of each plate fee, after DMV’s costs, must 
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be deposited into the Connecticut Lakes, Rivers, and Ponds Preservation account. Additionally, the 

act extends by 18 months the date by which the DMV commissioner must begin issuing Save Our 

Lakes plates, from January 1, 2020, to July 1, 2021 (PA 21-106, § 5, effective July 1, 2021). 

 

Service Fees for DMV Credit Card Payments  

A new law generally requires state agencies accepting credit, debit, or charge card payments to (1) 

charge payors a service fee for doing so and (2) disclose the fee to payors before imposing it, in 

accordance with any disclosure requirements set by the card issuer or processor. In doing so, it (1) 

requires, rather than allows, DMV to charge this fee, subject to certain parameters, and (2) 

authorizes it to waive the fee with the OPM secretary’s approval (PA 21-2, JSS, § 440, effective July 

1, 2022). 

 

Vision Testing for Driver’s License and Permit Applicants 

Under a new law, driver’s license or instruction permit applicants may satisfy vision screening 

requirements by submitting the results of a vision exam conducted by a licensed medical 

professional instead of completing a vision screening conducted by DMV (PA 21-106, §§ 9 & 41, 

effective July 1, 2021). 

 

For-Hire Transportation 

Household Goods Carrier Certificates 

A new law eliminates requirements that the DOT commissioner, before issuing a household goods 

carrier certificate, (1) hold a hearing on the application and (2) consider the condition of the 

involved highways and how the issuance will affect highway condition and public safety (PA 21-175, 

§§ 9-11 & 58, effective October 1, 2021). 

 

Paratransit Drivers as Mandated Reporters 

A new law adds paratransit drivers to the list of mandated reporters who must report to the 

Department of Social Services when they have reasonable cause to suspect that an elderly person 

needs protective services or has been abused, neglected, exploited, or abandoned. A paratransit 

vehicle is a motor bus, taxicab, or other motor vehicle in livery service that is (1) operated under a 

DOT certificate and (2) on call or on demand or used to transport passengers for hire (PA 21-122, 

effective July 1, 2021).  
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Stagnant Livery Permits 

A new law establishes a process by which DOT may revoke stagnant livery service permits. In order 

to do so, DOT must (1) send a revocation notice to the permit holder and either receive it back as 

undeliverable or not receive a response; (2) conduct a physical inspection of the address on file 

and determine that no service operates at the address, and (3) confirm that the permit holder has 

no vehicles registered under the permit (PA 21-175, § 8, effective October 1, 2021). 

 

Taxi Certificate Hearings 

A new law eliminates the three-month waiting period before a hearing may be scheduled on a taxi 

certificate application (PA 21-175, § 7, effective upon passage). 

 

Highways and Parkways 

Nonprofit Vehicles on Parkways Pilot Program 

A new law requires DOT to establish a pilot program to allow vehicles owned by, or under contract 

with, a nonprofit organization that transports seniors or individuals with disabilities to use the 

Merritt and Wilbur Cross parkways, subject to certain requirements. (Existing law generally prohibits 

commercial vehicles from using these parkways.)  

 

Under the act, the pilot program must begin by January 1, 2022, and end on January 1, 2024. The 

DOT commissioner must report to the Transportation Committee on the program’s implementation 

and any related legislative recommendations by February 1, 2024 (PA 21-175, § 54, effective 

October 1, 2021). 

 

Overweight Vehicles on Bridges 

A new law explicitly prohibits crossing a bridge with a vehicle that exceeds the posted weight limit 

and establishes penalties for violations of (1) up to $1,000 for a first offense and (2) up to $2,500 

for a subsequent offense. The new law also extends these fines to the existing prohibition on  

driving over, on, through, or under any bridge or structure if the vehicle’s height or load exceeds the 

height of the posted clearance or load shown on a sign. Under prior law, these violations were 

infractions (PA 21-175, §§ 2 & 3, various effective dates). 

 

Service Signs on Limited Access Highways 

A new law combines two limited access highway sign programs into one Specific Service Sign 

program in conformity with federal regulations. The new program covers food, gas, lodging, 

camping, and attraction signage. DOT must adopt regulations on sign design and installation, the 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=6484
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application process, and the financial responsibility of applicants (PA 21-175, § 17, effective upon 

passage). 

 

Motor Vehicle Dealers and Repairers 

Dealer and Repairer Licenses 

A new law makes several changes related to dealer and repairer licenses, including: 

1. authorizing the DMV commissioner, when deciding whether to grant or renew these licenses, 

to consider civil judgments against applicants that involve odometer fraud or operating a 

dealer, repairer, or motor vehicle recycler business without a license; 

2. requiring license applicants to submit to a national criminal history record check, in addition 

to the state criminal history record check already required by law; and 

3. eliminating a provision prohibiting new car dealers, repairers, and limited repairers from 

receiving initial or renewal licenses if they owe sales tax (PA 21-106, § 20, effective July 1, 

2021). 

 

Fire Apparatus Sale and Repair Study 

A new law requires the DMV commissioner to study compliance with the laws regarding the sale 

and repair of fire apparatus in Connecticut and submit a report with her findings and 

recommendations to the Transportation Committee by February 1, 2022 (PA 21-106, § 43, 

effective upon passage). 

 

New Motor Vehicle Lemon Law 

A new law makes various changes to the new motor vehicle lemon law. Among other things, the 

changes (1) require additional manufacturers to stamp their vehicles indicating they are lemon law 

buybacks, (2) require consumers in arbitration to provide notice about the arbitration before selling 

their motor vehicle, and (3) fine manufacturers that fail to stamp within the specified time period or 

fail to perform arbitration awards (PA 21-37, §§ 40-42, effective October 1, 2021). 

 

Registrations by Dealers 

A new law permits the DMV commissioner to authorize certain dealers to issue various types of 

motor vehicle registrations, regardless of whether the dealers sold the vehicles to the registrants. 

Under prior law, the commissioner could authorize dealers to issue registrations only on the 

vehicles that the dealers sold. The act allows the DMV commissioner to authorize dealers to charge 

and retain a service fee for registration services, up to a certain maximum established by the 

commissioner.  
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The act also requires the commissioner to allow dealers to electronically register vehicles with a 

gross vehicle weight rating exceeding 26,000 pounds that are used or operated in intrastate 

commerce (PA 21-106, § 30, effective October 1, 2021). 

 

School Buses 

Extended Stop Arms 

A new law allows school buses to be equipped with an extended stop arm. Under the act, an 

“extended stop arm” is a device attached to a stop semaphore that when activated displays a stop 

sign and extends between three and six feet from the left side of a school bus (PA 21-106, § 38, 

effective October 1, 2021). 

 

School Bus Passing Violations 

A new law makes changes related to the issuance of tickets for school bus passing violations 

recorded by stop arm cameras. Specifically, it (1) extends, from 10 to 30 days, the deadline for law 

enforcement to issue a ticket after a violation is recorded and (2) removes the requirement for a 

signed affidavit from the person who witnessed the violation live (PA 21-106, § 42, effective 

October 1, 2021). 

 

Traffic Safety 

Back Seat Passenger Seat Belts 

A new law generally requires all motor vehicle occupants to wear seat belts while the vehicle is 

moving. Prior law required only the driver, front seat passenger, and certain back seat passengers 

(e.g., passengers under age 16) to wear them. Under the new law, the failure to wear a seat belt by 

any back seat passenger age 16 or older is a secondary offense, meaning that officers cannot stop 

a vehicle unless another violation has occurred. Violations are infractions (PA 21-175, §§ 15 & 16, 

effective October 1, 2021).  

 

Certificates of Operation for Major Traffic Generators 

A new law requires the Office of the State Traffic Administration (OSTA), when awarding certificates 

of operation to developments generating large volumes of traffic, to consider their impact on bicycle 

and pedestrian access and safety (PA 21-28, § 3, effective October 1, 2021). 
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Distracted Driving Fines 

A new law increases the fines for violating the state’s distracted driving law from (1) $150 to $200 

for a first violation, (2) $300 to $375 for a second violation, and (3) $500 to $625 for a third or 

subsequent violation (PA 21-28, § 13, effective October 1, 2021). 

 

Dooring 

A new law generally prohibits a person from causing physical contact between a vehicle door and 

moving traffic (including cyclists and pedestrians) by opening the door or leaving it open longer than 

needed to load or unload passengers. Violations of this provision are infractions (PA 21-28, § 4, 

effective October 1, 2021). 

 

Driving Under the Influence (DUI)  

The new law that legalizes recreational cannabis makes a number of corresponding changes to the 

DUI laws. Among other things, the act: 

1. requires (a) the Police Officer Standards and Training Council and DOT to develop a plan to 

train enough accredited drug recognition experts (DREs) and (b) certain officers who have 

not been recertified to be trained in advanced roadside impaired driving enforcement;  

2. deems that drivers give their implied consent to submit to the nontestimonial portion of a 

DRE-conducted drug influence evaluation and establishes procedures and conditions for 

requesting, administering, and documenting drug influence evaluations; 

3. modifies the administrative per se process to allow for license suspensions and other 

penalties for people who are found to have been drug-impaired based on behavioral 

evidence; 

4. allows a defendant’s refusal to submit to the nontestimonial portion of a drug influence 

evaluation to be used as evidence in DUI prosecutions; and  

5. requires the Department of Transportation to make recommendations about improving 

impaired driving data collection, implementing an electronic warrant pilot program in 

impaired driving investigations, and the feasibility of an oral fluid testing pilot program. 

 

The act makes it a (1) class C misdemeanor to smoke, otherwise inhale, or ingest cannabis while 

driving a motor vehicle and (2) class D misdemeanor to do so as a passenger. But it also limits 

when cannabis odor can justify a search or motor vehicle stop. For example, under the act, the odor 

of cannabis or burnt cannabis does not in itself justify a motor vehicle stop, but police officers may 

test for impairment based on this odor if the officer reasonably suspects that the operator or 

passenger is violating the DUI laws (PA 21-1, JSS, various sections and effective dates). 
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In a separate act, the legislature also explicitly extended the implied consent and administrative per 

se laws to drivers of snowmobiles and all-terrain vehicles. The state’s criminal DUI laws already 

apply to these drivers (PA 21-106, § 26, effective July 1, 2021). 

 

Ice Cream Trucks 

A new law enhances the safety of children buying from ice cream trucks by, among other things (1) 

requiring trucks to install, by May 1, 2022, certain safety equipment; (2) establishing operating 

rules for ice cream trucks that generally limit vending locations and conditions; and (3) requiring 

drivers approaching ice cream trucks that are stopped to vend to stop and proceed slowly past the 

truck. Under the act, first-time violations of these requirements are generally infractions. DMV must 

post information about the requirements on its website, and this information must be included with 

certain permit applications (PA 21-20, most provisions effective July 1, 2021). 

 

Inoperative Traffic Signals 

A new law requires drivers, when approaching intersections with inoperative traffic signals, to stop 

their vehicles and proceed as though a stop sign were facing in each direction at the intersection 

(e.g., a four-way stop), unless a police officer directs them otherwise. Under prior law, if a traffic 

signal was inoperative, the intersection became “uncontrolled” and the standard right-of-way rules 

applied. Violations of the law are infractions (PA 21-61, effective October 2, 2021). 

 

Municipal Surcharge 

A new law increases, from $20 to $25, the surcharge paid, in addition to a fine, by people who 

violate specified motor vehicle laws, regulations, and ordinances (e.g., speeding and reckless 

driving). By law, the state must remit this fee to the municipality in which a violation occurs (PA 21-

28, § 5, effective October 1, 2021). 

 

Service Vehicles 

A new law expands the state’s vulnerable user law to include people operating certain service 

vehicles (e.g., garbage and recycling trucks, tank vehicles, and certain delivery trucks). By law, 

drivers face a penalty of up to $1,000 if they fail to exercise reasonable care and cause substantial 

bodily harm to, or the serious physical injury or death of, a “vulnerable user,” provided the 

vulnerable user exercised reasonable care in using the public way. The act also requires drivers to 

pass these vehicles and agricultural tractors at a distance of at least three feet (PA 21-195, 

effective October 1, 2021). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=106
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=608
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=61
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=5429
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=5429
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=195


2021-R-0119 August 10, 2021 Page 20 of 24 
 

Speed Limits on Local Roads and Pedestrian Safety Zones 

A new law allows local traffic authorities (LTAs) to (1) set speed limits on roads under their 

jurisdictions without OSTA approval and (2) establish pedestrian safety zones on roads in downtown 

areas and community centers. The act sets conditions for doing so, including that the LTA must (1) 

receive permission to assume responsibility for local speed limits from the municipality by vote of 

its legislative body and (2) conduct an engineering study before setting a speed limit (PA 21-28, §§ 

6-12, effective October 1, 2021). 

  

Street Racing 

A new law modifies the circumstances that constitute illegal street racing. Under prior law, street 

racing was operating a vehicle on a public road for a wager or race or for the purpose of making a 

speed record. Under the act, street racing is operating a vehicle on a public road for any race, 

contest, or demonstration of speed or skill. Existing law prohibits street racing and other specified 

acts related to street racing (e.g., possessing a vehicle with intent to street race or acting as a 

timekeeper or spectator of the race) (PA 21-175, § 23, effective October 1, 2021).  

 

Vision Zero Council 

A new law establishes a Vision Zero Council and charges it with developing a statewide policy and 

interagency approach to eliminating all transportation-related fatalities and severe injuries to 

pedestrians, bicyclists, transit users, drivers, and passengers. The council is composed of the 

transportation, public health, and emergency services and public protection commissioners and 

any other commissioner they invite. The council must hold its first meeting by September 1, 2021, 

and annually report to the Transportation Committee starting by February 1, 2022 (PA 21-28, § 2, 

effective upon passage). 

 

Work Zone Speed Camera Pilot Program 

A new law allows DOT to establish a two-year pilot program, beginning January 1, 2022, to operate 

speed cameras at up to three highway work zones at any one time. The law establishes conditions 

and procedures for camera operation, violation enforcement, and data collection and retention. 

Drivers recorded speeding by 15 mph or more are subject to a warning for a first violation, a $75 

fine for a second violation, and a $150 fine for subsequent violations (PA 21-2, JSS, §§ 297-305, 

effective October 1, 2021). 

 

Yielding to Pedestrians at Crosswalks 

A new law expands the circumstances under which drivers must yield to pedestrians at 

uncontrolled crosswalks. Specifically, drivers must do so if a pedestrian (1) is within the crosswalk, 
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(2) steps to the curb at the crosswalk’s entrance and indicates intent to cross the road by raising 

their hand, or (3) indicates intent to cross by moving into the crosswalk’s entrance a body part or 

extension of one (e.g., a cane). Under prior law, drivers were required to yield only if a pedestrian 

stepped off the curb or into the crosswalk (PA 21-28, § 1, effective October 1, 2021). 

 

Transportation Funding and Finance 

Highway Use Tax 

Beginning January 1, 2023, a new law imposes a highway use tax (HUT) on every carrier for the 

privilege of operating, or causing to be operated, certain heavy, multi-unit motor vehicles on any 

public road in the state. The HUT is charged at a per-mile rate that increases based on a vehicle’s 

weight, ranging from (1) 2.5 cents for vehicles weighing 26,000-28,000 pounds (lbs.) to (2) 17.5 

cents for vehicles weighing more than 80,000 lbs. Revenue from the tax must be deposited into the 

Special Transportation Fund (PA 21-177, effective upon passage and applicable to calendar 

months beginning on or after January 1, 2023). 

 

Office of Innovation Finance and Project Delivery 

A new law establishes the Office of Innovative Finance and Project Delivery within DOT and charges 

it with (1) evaluating opportunities to use innovative financing and risk management for 

transportation projects, (2) focusing on effective and accelerated transportation project delivery, 

and (3) recommending public-private partnership opportunities to the commissioner (PA 21-175, § 

22, effective upon passage). 

 

Public-Private Partnerships (P3s) 

A new law reestablishes, through January 1, 2027, the governor’s authority to approve up to five P3 

projects. (This authority expired on January 1, 2020.) It also modified the P3 law by (1) limiting it to 

transportation projects only, thus reducing the types of state entities and projects covered by the 

law; (2) eliminating provisions in prior law restricting P3 projects to revenue-generating facilities 

and limiting the state’s share of project costs; and (3) requiring DOT, for each P3, to make best 

efforts to use DOT employees to perform development and inspection work (PA 21-99, effective 

upon passage). 

 

Trucking 

Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Changes  

A new law makes a number of changes related to CDLs, including: 
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1. modifying the duration of a CDL learner’s permit from 180 days with an option to renew to a 

single, one-year period; 

2. imposing lifetime CDL disqualification on any person who commits certain human trafficking 

felonies while using a commercial motor vehicle, in conformity with federal regulation; 

3. giving the DMV commissioner discretion to waive CDL knowledge tests for veterans and 

active duty service members who meet conditions set by federal regulation; 

4. requiring the DMV commissioner to verify that certain CDL upgrade or endorsement 

applicants have undergone specific entry level training before administering particular tests; 

5. requiring the DMV commissioner, beginning January 6, 2023, to request a CDL applicant’s 

record from the federal Drug and Alcohol Clearinghouse to determine whether he or she is 

qualified to renew, transfer, or upgrade a CDL, in conformity with federal regulations (PA 21-

106, §§ 9 & 14-17 most provisions effective July 1, 2021). 

 

State and Municipal Contract Eligibility 

A new law repeals a statute that prohibited certain trucking companies and commercial motor 

vehicle drivers from being found ineligible for state or municipal contracts based on the results of 

safety inspections, unless at least 10 safety inspections of the company’s or driver’s vehicle had 

been conducted during the 24 months before the contract’s starting date (PA 21-106, § 66, 

effective upon passage). 

 

Miscellaneous 

Accessible Parking Placards 

A new law allows the parents or guardians of a person of any age who is blind or has a disability to 

apply for an accessible parking windshield placard on the person’s behalf. Under prior law, only 

parents or guardians of such individuals under age 18 could do so. By law, DMV must issue a 

placard to each applicant, up to two per person (PA 21-106, § 36, effective October 1, 2021). 

 

ATV Seizure by Ordinance 

A new law allows all municipalities that regulate all-terrain vehicle (ATV) use by ordinance to also 

provide for their seizure and forfeiture by ordinance. Under prior law, only municipalities with 

populations of 20,000 or more could provide for the seizure of ATVs (PA 21-175, § 57, effective 

October 1, 2021). 
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Catalytic Converter Sales 

A new law prohibits motor vehicle recyclers from receiving a vehicle’s catalytic converter unless the 

seller provides proof that he or she owns the vehicle or is an authorized agent of the vehicle’s 

owner. The act also requires motor vehicle recyclers to maintain copies of the proof with their 

records. By law, their records must be available for inspection by the DMV, State Police, and any 

organized local police department (PA 21-106, § 46, effective October 1, 2021). 

 

Commercial Passenger Vehicle Insurance 

A new law makes several modifications to the requirements for insurance policies and indemnity 

bonds for buses, taxis, livery service vehicles, and student transportation vehicles. Among other 

things, it (1) requires them to have single limit of liability providing coverage against claims for 

personal injury or death and property damage for any one accident, (2) increases the minimum 

insurance coverage amounts for non-livery service vehicles that transport eight or more 

passengers, and (3) conforms non-livery insurance requirements to federal law (PA 21-106, § 8, 

effective October 1, 2021). 

 

DEEP Emergency Vehicles 

A new law expands the definition of “emergency vehicle” to include any DEEP vehicle operated by 

an authorized DEEP employee while in the course of his or her employment and while going to a fire 

or responding to an emergency call, but not returning from a fire or an emergency call. In doing so, 

it extends to these vehicles the same rights and duties that apply to other emergency vehicles 

under existing law (e.g., the right to exceed the speed limit) and imposes certain requirements on 

other drivers in the presence of these vehicles (e.g., the requirement to move over to let the 

emergency vehicle pass) (PA 21-106, §§ 34 & 35, effective upon passage). 

 

DMV Wait Time Report 

Prior law required DMV to submit monthly and annual reports to the Transportation Committee on 

wait times at department offices. A new law eliminates the monthly reporting requirement and 

modifies the content that the department must include in its annual report. In doing so, the act 

aligns the annual report with the department’s shift to online services and an appointment system 

for in-person services (PA 21-106, § 48, effective July 1, 2021). 

 

Emission Testing Deadlines 

By law, whenever a vehicle’s ownership is transferred, the new owner must present the vehicle for 

an emissions inspection within 30 days after registering the vehicle. A new law authorizes the DMV 
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commissioner to extend this deadline if circumstances require DMV or emissions inspection 

stations to close or limit operations (PA 21-106, § 25, effective July 1, 2021). 

 

License Deposits for DMV-Regulated Businesses 

A new law eliminates the option to deposit cash with DMV as a condition of obtaining the following 

licenses: (1) repairer, (2) limited repairer, (3) new car dealer, (4) used car dealer, (5) leasing or 

rental, or (6) drivers’ school. In doing so, it requires those licensure applicants to submit surety 

bonds, which is an option under existing law (PA 21-106, §§ 19 & 21, effective October 1, 2021, 

except the provision affecting drivers’ school licenses is effective July 1, 2021). 

 

Peer-to-Peer (P2P) Car Sharing 

A new law imposes regulatory requirements on “P2P car sharing,” which is when people share their 

vehicles for compensation through a platform operated by a P2P car sharing company (e.g., Turo 

and Getaround). The act principally addresses insurance and liability, including requiring P2P car 

sharing companies to (1) ensure that owners and drivers participating in P2P car sharing have 

minimum insurance coverage and (2) provide coverage for claims if an owner’s or driver’s policy 

has lapsed. It also addresses consumer protection matters, including requiring that vehicle owners 

address vehicle recalls before sharing their vehicles. 

 

The act also (1) prohibits P2P car sharing from operating at Bradley International Airport unless the 

company enters into an agreement with the Connecticut Airport Authority and (2) requires the 

Department of Revenue Services to issue guidance on the sales tax treatment of P2P car sharing 

(PA 21-106, §§ 52-65, effective January 1, 2022, except that the provision on DRS guidance is 

effective upon passage). 
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